English

The English program provides fundamental skills in reading, writing, and research—but more than that, English courses serve students across academic disciplines by laying a foundation for critical thinking, textual analysis, argumentation and creative expression.

English majors develop an understanding of language and its power to inform, describe, persuade, and entertain. They develop the confidence to break down complex arguments and texts and also build nuanced, comprehensive responses. They learn to proofread, edit, and refine written pieces in order to create clear, concise and effective communication. In so doing, students ready themselves to engage as active participants in their chosen professions and follow a path of leadership.

The NVC English Transfer Degree will help prepare students for more advanced composition and literary study at four-year universities. Yet the skills it reinforces—analysis and interpretation, interpersonal communication, in-depth researching, understanding contexts, synthesizing information, building arguments and propositions--will also prepare any student for a range of career paths.

Career Opportunities

Studying English prepares you for a broad, diverse range of professional fields, including education, journalism, law, publishing, medicine, entertainment and fine arts. Indeed, every career or discipline depends on those who can effectively communicate, so no matter what your area of interest, English courses can make you a more effective and well-rounded job candidate.

Beyond careers in writing and teaching, opportunities for English majors abound, including as Business Managers, Sales Executives, Communications Officers and Executive Assistants; Policy Analysts, Business Administrators and Public Sector Administrators; Editors, Copywriters, and Content Developers; Public Relations Specialists, Marketers, and Brand Managers; Tech Writers, Tech Developers, Social Media Managers, and Search Engine Optimization Specialists; Journalists and Reporters; Lawyers, Clerks and Paralegals; Grant Writers and Fundraisers; and many, many more. 

Contact Information 

Division

Language and Developmental Studies
Building 1000, Office 1031V
Phone: (707) 256-7726

Dean

Ms. María L. Villagómez
Senior Dean, Language Arts, Library and Social Sciences
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Mvillagomez@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7156

Program Coordinator

Karen Larsen
Professor, English
2277 Napa-Vallejo Hwy Napa, CA 94558
Email: Klarsen@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7750

Faculty

Andrea Bewick
Professor, English
2277 Napa-Vallejo Hwy Napa, CA 94558
Email: Abewick@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7743

Dr. Aaron DiFranco
Professor, English 
2277 Napa-Vallejo Hwy Napa, CA 94558
Email: Adifranco@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7759

Dr. Iris Dunkle
Professor, English
2277 Napa-Vallejo Hwy Napa, CA 94558
Email: Idunkle@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7748

Anna Garcia
Professor, English
2277 Napa-Vallejo Hwy Napa, CA 94558
Email: Anna.Garcia@napavalley.edu

Cathy Gillis
Professor, English
2277 Napa-Vallejo Hwy Napa, CA 94558
Email: Cgillis@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7411

Kristie Iwamoto
Professor, English
2277 Napa-Vallejo Hwy Napa, CA 94558
Email: Kiwamoto@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7751

John Kincheloe
Professor, English
2277 Napa-Vallejo Hwy Napa, CA 94558
Email: John.kincheloe@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7765

Dr. Matthew Kronzer
Professor, English
2277 Napa-Vallejo Hwy Napa, CA 94558
Email: Matthew.kronzer@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7760

Brian Larsen
Professor, English
2277 Napa-Vallejo Hwy Napa, CA 94558
Email: Brlarsen@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7756

Christine Pruitt
Professor, English
2277 Napa-Vallejo Hwy Napa, CA 94558
Email: Christine.pruitt@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7073

Dr. Eileene Tejada
Professor, English and Anthropology
2277 Napa-Vallejo Hwy Napa, CA 94558
Email: Etejada@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7752

Dr. Lisa Yanover
Professor, English
2277 Napa-Vallejo Hwy Napa, CA 94558
Email: Lyanover@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7761