Mathematics

The Napa Valley College Mathematics Department strives to make mathematics accessible and meaningful by employing diverse teaching methods in courses emphasizing vital quantitative skills and qualitative reasoning ability. Our goal is to ensure that all students receive the instruction and support necessary to become confident, independent, and successful lifelong learners, capable of achieving their academic and professional goals.

Math Placement information can be found on the Admissions Requirements section of the catalog.

The Math Success Center at Napa Valley College helps students improve their math skills by assisting them individually and in small groups. Services include drop-in appointments, assistance with homework assignments, exam preparation, free computer access and online tutoring through Smarthinking, and more.  For more details, please see the Math Success Center webpage.

Career Opportunities

Math majors can be successful in many different careers!  For a list of some possible career choices please see weusemath.org.

Contact Information

Department

Mathematics
Building 1000
Phone: (707) 256-7727

Dean

Robert Van Der Velde
Senior Dean, Arts and Sciences
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Robert.Vandervelde@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7768

Program Coordinator

Shawna Bynum
Professor, Mathematics
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Sbynum@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7744

Faculty

Jennifer Aguayo
Professor, Mathematics 
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Jaguayo@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7279

Shawna Bynum
Professor, Mathematics
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Sbynum@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7744

Ana Clare
Professor, Mathematics
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Anaclare.elizarraras@napavalley.edu

David Ellingson
Professor, Mathematics
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Dellingson@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7763

William Fried
Professor, Mathematics 
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Bfried@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7738

Michael Gianvecchio
Professor, Mathematics
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Mgianvecchio@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7746

Ksenia Kitaeva
Professor, Mathematics
Professor, Mathematics
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Kowens@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7731

Sherry Lohse
Professor, Mathematics 
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Slohse@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7745

Lisa Nussdorfer
Professor, Mathematics 
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Lnussdorfer@napavalley.edu
Phone: (707) 256-7735

Emery Stafford
Professor, Mathematics 
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Emery.stafford@napavalley.edu
Phone:  (707) 256-7739

Diane Van Deusen
Professor, Mathematics 
2277 Napa Vallejo Highway, 94558, Napa, CA
Email: Dvandeusen@napvalley.edu
Phone:  (707) 256-7766